Smooth Camera movement using splines.

Today I had the issue of realising that free handing the camera using manual keyframes left the shots looking quite wonky and wobbly, overall quite unprofessional. I also needed to have quite a few scenes where the camera moves 360 around a single object. Therefore I went to checkout out some tutorials on Lynda. Unfortunately I couldn’t find any specifically related to what I wanted and as I am under time constraints I didn’t have time to watch a whole lecture.

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 11.23.10.png

This would have been useful but I really needed to cut to the chase. So i went straight to youtube.

 

I found this interesting video however it was still not what i wanted and failed to help me out. Then I remembered about a little thing called Align to Spline. This is where you can connect any object to a spline and have it follow along the spline path.

With a little refresher from youtube I was on to a winner. With a little tweaking and some dynamic spline conversions I arrived with a fairly slick looking piece of animation.

I then decided to add this knowledge and skill to my Cabinet animation…

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 12.05.44.png

This was basically it. As you can see from the picture the camera is attached to the blue spline and goes up and around the cabinet. This means that it is a guaranteed stable shot. I also added a target expression which is attached to the camera along with the spline expression.Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 12.07.18.png

This meant as well as a stable shot around the object the camera would also keep the cube (Cabinet) in its sights at all times and therefore create that perfect 360 camera movement around a single point.

 

Here is the final outcome….

 

Leave a Reply

